decorative image of Robinson-Honors-Program-officers , PSC’s best and brightest honored at ‘Recognizing Excellence’ reception 2021-10-13 13:25:38 Published: 10-13-2021

Troy Moon, Pensacola State College

Trinity Miller has a game plan. Finish her Associate of Arts degree at Pensacola State College in 2022, then off to either Florida A&M University or the University of Florida for pre-med. After that on to medical school with plans on becoming a pediatrician.

She’s succeeded at PSC, even being chosen as secretary of the prestigious Robinson Honors Program. She is one of 20 students who were honored at the second “Recognizing Excellence” reception held Oct. 12 on the Pensacola campus.

The event recognized the nine Robinson Honors Program officers, six Student Ambassadors and five Presidential Scholarship recipients.

“We’re very proud of her,’’ Trinity’s mother, Cynthia Miller said. “When she first started at PSC, she was shy and reserved and now she’s blossomed.” (Trinity’s father Kevin Miller also attended in support of his daughter).

Trinity admitted the same.

“In the beginning, I wasn’t really involved,’’ she said. “Now, I’m having fun and really enjoying PSC. I’m joining different clubs and am more involved and feel part of the College.”

Those qualities ─ academic success and extracurricular involvement – are found in all of those recognized at the reception.

“There is nothing more important than recognizing good, successful and active students and all of you are certainly that,’’ said PSC President Ed Meadows. “We have a number of people who excel at this institution in a lot of different ways.”

Presidential Scholars ─ chosen by Meadows – and Student Ambassadors receive scholarships.

The scholarship recipients also are selected by Meadows from a list of applicants who “represent some of the most exemplary high school students” in Escambia and Santa Rosa counties. The Presidential Scholarship is a two-year, full-tuition and textbook award. Recipients must be an incoming freshman or dual-enrolled student and must have a minimum high school grade point average of 3.2.

Ambassadors are selected based on recommendation letters, academic achievement, demonstration of leadership abilities and community service. They also must be a graduate of Baldwin County, Escambia County or Santa Rosa County high school. Students must have applied and been admitted to Pensacola State, with a commitment to attend the fall, spring and summer terms.

Marjorie Moore, chair of the PSC Board of Trustees, called the Ambassadors – who can be seen at PSC events wearing blue blazers – “the public face” of the PSC student body.

The Robinson Honors Program officers, Student Ambassadors and Presidential Scholarship recipients honored were:

decorative image of Robinson-Honors-Program-officers , PSC’s best and brightest honored at ‘Recognizing Excellence’ reception 2021-10-13 13:25:38

Robinson Honors Program officers on front row are Lisa Marshall-Velez, left, and Trinity Miller. On back row are Robinson Honors Program Coordinator Amber Carey, from left, Izel Tuncer, Jacob Kayl and Sebastian Gordon. Not pictured are Victor Dixon, Kaitlyn Stevens, Miguel Negron and Chayla Burgess.

Robinson Honors Program officers

Jacob Kayl, President
Izel Tuncer, Executive Vice President
Victor Dixon Jr., Vice President of Social Media
Kaitlyn Stephens, Vice President of Social Activities
Miguel Negrón, Co-Vice President of Service
Chayla Burgess, Co-Vice President of Service
Lisa Marshall-Velez, Treasurer
Trinity Miller, Secretary
Sebastian Gordon, Historian

Student Ambassadors

Miles Burt
Alexis Copeland
Karlee James
Claudia Li
Connor Wooden
Avery Young

Presidential Scholarship Recipients

Peighton Cobb
Chloe Huffman
Mackenzie Kent
Meredith McGhee
Chance Outten

decorative image of presidential-scholars , PSC’s best and brightest honored at ‘Recognizing Excellence’ reception 2021-10-13 13:26:55

Presidential Scholars: Mackenzie Kent, from left, Meredith McGhee and Chloe Hoffman. Not pictured are Peighton Cobb and Chance Outten.

decorative image of Student-Ambassadors , PSC’s best and brightest honored at ‘Recognizing Excellence’ reception 2021-10-13 13:28:17

Student Ambassadors scholarship recipients are Claudia Li, seated. Standing from left are Kathy Dutremble , dean of student affairs, Alexis Copeland, Avery Young and Miles Burt. Not pictured are Karlee James and Conner Wooden.